Skip navigation

Yellow Tulip

I found these lovely tulips wrapped in protective plastic at a flower vendor’s booth at a Farmers Market. Since I couldn’t unwrap them, and I wanted an image of them from the side, my only option was to shoot them through the plastic wrapping.

I grabbed one quick shot, but didn’t think I would ever wind up doing anything with it…until tonight. Knowing I couldn’t make the plastic film completely disappear from the image, I played around with bringing it out instead.

I like the way the folds of the plastic resemble a sheer curtain, and how they echo the delicate folds of the flower petals.

In the end, I think the plastic enhances, rather than detracts from, this particular image.

Though given a choice, I’d rather not have anything between my lens and my flower subjects.

Leave a Reply

