Skip navigation

Great Horned Owls

Since I subjected you to dead baby whale posts two days in a row (no more, I promise!) I thought I would share an image today of a baby wild critter that’s alive and thriving.  Less than a mile from where the humpback calf washed up a few days ago, there is a pair of great horned owls that are raising two offspring.  Although the owlets can fly, the parents still keep close tabs on them when they’re away from the nest, and continue to feed them.

The tall eucalyptus trees make a perfect nesting site, as well as a good perch from which to survey the area.

 

2 Comments

  1. So cool where are these guys? I would love love love to see if I can see them.

    Linda

    Sent from my iPad

    • Hi Linda,

      Email me and I’ll give you the details. They are very, very, VERY hard to spot. They sit very still and blend into the eucs like magic Ninja owls! 😉

      RPRT Photo


Leave a Reply

