Skip navigation

Grizzly Cub Play 2

The grizzly cubs entertaining themselves on this large driftwood stump while their mother was grazing alternated between playing nicely together and mock-fighting.  All of their “fights” seemed to be pretty tame:  gentle boxing and wrestling matches with an occasional playful nip thrown in for emphasis.  I never heard a squeal or yelp from either of them.

It’s a good thing they play gently because even though they’re young, their claws and teeth are already quite sharp.  Notice the choppers the cub on the left is sporting.  And yes, they’re both still nursing…OW!!!

4 Comments

  1. I remember that in my Superman comics, Jimmy Olsen was referred to as a “cub reporter.” You seem to have taken over the job–and I love the results.

    • At your service, Mike!

      I’ll bet you’ve nev ursine so many bear images in one blog…

      Thanks for the kind words. 🙂

      RPRT Photo

      • I really am enjoying your series on the bears, clamming and playing. It’s both informative about bear behavior and fun and you have captured so many wonderful images.

      • Thanks Mike.

        I’m glad you’re enjoying the bears. I am too. It’s hard to tear myself away!

        I’ve got more fun Alaska images coming up shortly, incuding some bird shots that I think you’re really going to like.

        BTW, I like your recent heron and bluebird shots, and especially the ginkgo. It’s one of my favorite trees! 🙂

        Happy shooting,
        RPRT Photo


Leave a Reply

