Skip navigation

rocks

I was walking through the streets of Amsterdam and came upon an area where the street was being dug up.  I saw this little pile of rubble laying on the cobblestones, and liked the way the rocks were “arranged.”  Please note that I didn’t move a single pebble, but shot it just as I found it.

I was struck by the variety of rocks in this grouping, and I liked all the different shapes and textures and colors.  And I loved that it was totally random…and that it most likely wouldn’t be there the following day after the street got “cleaned up.”

It reminded me of the film “American Beauty,” and the footage of the plastic bag swirling in circles in the wind.  The ability to see loveliness in the ordinary:  is it a blessing, or a curse?  I think the former…

Leave a Reply

