Skip navigation

heliconia 2

As the title says, this is a portion of a Heliconia plant (technically the bract, NOT the flower, though most people will refer to it as the latter).  I can’t get enough of this plant.  It looks like it was airbrushed, but it really IS these wild shades of red, orange, yellow and green.  See yesterday’s post (“Hanging Heliconia,” 05.19.13) for an image of the larger bracts.

By the way, for you statisticians out there, this marks my two-year anniversary blogging.  It’s only my 365th post, however.  I try to write every single day, except when I’m traveling.  Considering the fact that I had to take a six month break in late 2011 through early 2012, and that I travel as often as I can manage (and afford) to, I was still able to average a post every other day over the entire two year period.

Thanks for traveling with me, however long you’re been on board.  I’m hoping the journey is far from over…

6 Comments

  1. Congratulations on your anniversary. I really enjoy your photos (and the colors of this plant are incredible, though I must confess that I had to look up what a “bract” is).

    • Thanks Mike. 🙂

      A bract is basically a leaf masquerading as a flower petal. Perhaps the best known plant that has these is the poinsettia. But the heliconia takes the concept to a entirely different level, with rows of gaudy bracts several feet long on some varieties.

      Thanks for sharing the beauty and variety of the outdoors with me, on my blog as well as yours. 🙂

      RPRT Photo

  2. Now I have Lou Bega’s “Mambo #5” stuck in my head. Amazing colours.

    • Hey Antarabesque–

      Sorry about the ear worm! If it makes you feel any better, I just played that song on youtube so now I’ve got it too… 😛

      RPRT Photo

  3. Congratulations on your anniversary!
    Cheers,
    Charlie


Leave a Reply

