Skip navigation

wagon with wood

Early one morning near Vinales, a man loaded some scrap wood onto his wagon, hitched up his horse, and took off towards…

I really don’t know!  Perhaps he’s going to mend a fence, or an animal pen.  Perhaps it’s firewood.  Perhaps it’ll be used to spruce up the wagon…

What I do know is that you could do far worse than to have a commute like this, through the gorgeous Cuban countryside, in the clear morning light, while the shadows still reach across the road, with only your horse for company.

4 Comments

  1. OK you sold me on it!

  2. Hi Lyle,

    And you never need tire chains! 🙂

    RPRT Photo

  3. Looks more enjoyable than being stuck in traffic on I-95.
    Nice calming photo!

    • Hi Mary,

      I can think of MANY things more enjoyable than being stuck in traffic on I-95. Looks like you’re in Virginia? I hope you don’t have to commute to DC!

      I wrote a poem years ago called “How I Hate The Interstate.” I’ll have to see if I can find and post it one of these days. I think you’d enjoy it.

      Meanwhile, I’ll stick to the dirt and gravel roads and two-lane highways where all the best photo ops are hiding in plain sight. Shhhh, don’t tell anyone! 😉

      RPRT Photo


Leave a Reply

