Skip navigation

A boy and his dog

I spotted this young boy and his companion hanging out in the doorway of their apartment building in Havana.  This is a completely candid image, though the boy’s arm position looks a bit unnatural.  I remember being made to pose that way by the kiddie photographer at J. C. Penney’s when I was little.  And I remember thinking back then “Boy, this is dumb.  Kids don’t sit this way.”  Fast-forward several decades, and this young man proved me wrong:  sometimes kids DO sit this way!

I saw a lot of dachshunds in Cuba, particularly in Havana.  I guess they make good city dogs.  They’re small and they don’t eat much.  They don’t require a huge amount of exercise.  Their short hair suits the tropical climate.  All in all, a good fit for a family living in a small apartment in the middle of the city.

One thing I love about this image is how the boy and his dog have almost identical big, round, dark brown eyes.  Puppy eyes.  I don’t think I could turn down a request from either of them…

7 Comments

  1. Amazing pic..

    • Thanks AG.

      BTW, I love your portrait of the man in Jaipur. I’d love to see you do more portaits on your blog! 🙂

      RPRT Photo

      • Thank you so much for your suggestion
        I will certainly keep in mind

  2. awesome click….

    • Thanks Vikey.

      BTW, I like your bird and flower images. 🙂

      RPRT Photo

  3. Lovely image – even with the arm position.


Leave a Reply

