Skip navigation

Havana clothesline

If a single clothes dryer exists anywhere in Cuba, I saw no evidence of one.  From the heart of Havana to the smallest hut in the smallest village, or a farmhouse out in the countryside, everyone dries their clothes–and stuffed animals–on a clothesline.  I suppose it’s the tropical breezes that make for easy al fresco drying…that plus the fact that the average Cuban probably owns a fraction of the amount of clothes that the average American does.  I know some American families with kids that do several loads of laundry a day…yes, per day!  I’m sure there are few, if any families in Cuba who can make the same claim.

I arrived in Havana in the evening, as I walked around the city that night, I periodically got dripped on.  The first few times it happened, I looked up in alarm, only to see that someone had recently hung their laundry up to dry, and I was being splattered with nothing more harmful than a few drops of clean water.  Yes, it’s warm enough in Cuba in January to dry your laundry overnight!

Colorful clotheslines sagging with laundry became just one of many new photo ops I enjoyed here.  It was fun to look at the clothes and try to figure out who lived in the apartment or house…a single man?  A married couple?  A family with small children?  Teenagers?  Seniors?

I probably shot dozens of clotheslines, but this one is my favorite.  I love all the different bright colors, the varied patterns and textures, the brightly painted blue walls in the background…and of course the bunny!  Nothing like having a clean, fresh-smelling “lovie” to snuggle with at naptime, is there?

4 Comments

  1. And of course there’s power consumption. Why burn fossil fuels to do something that can be done naturally?

    • I wholeheartedly agree, James! Humans have been air-drying clothes for thousands of years, so we know it works. 😉

      RPRT Photo

  2. On my small iPhone the 2nd figure where the stuffed pillow looks like a cancan dancer,love hearing about your adventures! Thank you

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Hi Linda,

      Thanks for the note. I think the bunny is supposed to be dressed like a baby girl. But then I have the luxury of scrutinizing the image on my 27″ monitor vs my i-Phone. 🙂

      But I love the idea of a Cuban cancan-dancing rabbit…she can take the Pepsi Challenge against an American Playboy Bunny any day! 😉

      Feel better soon!!!

      Love,
      RPRT Photo


Leave a Reply

