Skip navigation

rusty wall 2

Rust makes its own pattern on the faded paint covering this corrugated steel wall.  The brown and orange stripes show each groove that acted like a mini-gutter, channeling the rain down to the ground.  The rain evaporated a little more slowly from the channels than it did from the ridges, and over the course of many years it was in the grooves that the rust began to form.  Now the rust has eaten completely through the metal in some areas.

I’m amazed at the amount of pattern and texture on this relatively flat surface.  To me, it’s far more interesting than a new or freshly painted wall.  The muted greens and browns of this image give it an almost organic feel.

Is it beautiful, or ugly?  Since it isn’t my building, I say beautiful.  The owner may have a different opinion…

6 Comments

  1. things, as in this case, offer so many ideas to take photographs.
    Surely ‘is nisogno maintenance. but the picture itself is beautiful.
    you are an artist!
    ciao
    vento

  2. I’ll go with beautiful – it’s not mine either.

  3. I think this is a beautiful, stunning picture. The colors are so intense. I wouldn’t have guessed a corrugated steel wall.

    Another really gorgeous, unusual picture! Thanks for posting. I’m glad I’m on the receiving end…. lol

    • Thanks Brinnmar, I’m glad you like it. 🙂

      RPRT Photo


Leave a Reply

