Skip navigation

 

It’s raining, and for some reason when it’s the proverbial dark and stormy night, I long for warmth and cheer.  Maybe that’s why I’m drawn to orange and yellow-hued images this time of year.

I took this image in the Palouse last September.  As in yesterday’s post (“A Matter Of Perspective,” 11.19.12) it’s a simple composition of a black silhouette against an orange and yellow sunset.  In this image, even the hills are so drenched in orange light that it looks like they’re giant lumps of lava glowing from within.

As a photographer, sometimes I think that I’ve seen all the tricks that light can play, and all the magic it can do…and then I’m gloriously proved wrong yet again.

Sometimes I love being wrong!

4 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on filmcamera999 and commented:
    very nice…

  2. Wow. What a stunning, graphic image, perfect evidence of the beauty in simplicity.

  3. it’s magic photo!!!!

  4. That is amazing! I love the gradiated colours. I don’t think I have ever witnessed landscapes drenched in colour that intense.


Leave a Reply

