Skip navigation

While traveling through Washington state last September, I enjoyed seeing the different methods the locals used for harvesting and storing hay.  More common than the “pyramids” featured in yesterday’s post (“Hay There” 11.10.12) were these giant rolls.  They also looked surreal to me when there was a number of them scattered about a field.

In the image below, I love the contrasting patterns that the planting and harvesting machinery make in the fields!

Most of the time, the bales seem to be scattered pretty randomly.  I enjoyed the challenge of trying to make a composition that looked somewhat “organized,” like the image below.

All of these images were shot from the road, but I was still able to get some pleasing patterns without wandering out into the fields.  Of course, it helps to be shooting on dirt roads with almost no traffic…

4 Comments

  1. You’re the only other blog that I have seen that has posted round bales. “Arranging” the bales is a challenge.

  2. Hi Lyle,

    “Arranging” a pleasing composition is much easier when you can walk into the field and aren’t limited by having to shoot from the side of the road!

    RPRT Photo

    PS I wish I was lucky enough to have hawks land on my hay bales like in your post… 😉

  3. They are great toys for the cows. Our neighbour’s herd would escape once in awhile and play with them – rubbing them with their heads until the bales started rolling then pushing them around the field. Much like playing soccer! The bull would even flip them end over end until he pushed it up against the fence or another bale. It was entertaining to watch, but my dad (90) would shake his fist and criticize them for ruining the hay. (It loosens the layers and make them hard to pick up with the forklift to move them).

    • Antarabesque–

      Hay bales as cow toys? I never would’ve thunk!

      Now THERE’S a photo op to add to my ever-expanding bucket list: cows at play. Specifically, cows (and bulls!) playing with hay bales…

      I guess their mothers never taught them to not play with their food? 😉

      Thanks so much for sharing that. I got a great mental picture of the mischievous bovines cavorting in the field and your dad getting mad at them as they were goofing around oblivious to his complaints.

      RPRT Photo


Leave a Reply

