Skip navigation

When I stopped on the side of the road early one morning to photograph the ranch signs in the last post (“Show Me A Sign II”, 11.07.12) I was closely watched by a small herd of mares and their foals.  I presume these are the quarter horses that were advertised on the sign.  The foals were very curious about what I was doing traipsing through the weeds and brush alongside the road with my camera.  I guess not many people stop to photograph the signs on the side of the highway!  They watched me intently until I got back in the car and drove away.

All the horses looked very healthy and well cared for.  It’s nice to see animals treated well by their human caretakers.

I would’ve stayed and done some more portraits of these beautiful animals except for the fact that most of the corral was in the shade.  I was only able to get one of the foals in the soft morning light (the most curious of the bunch!), and I didn’t want to disturb the rest of them by calling them over to the fence.  The moms were munching on their breakfast (couldn’t see, but most likely alfalfa) and the foals were intermittently nursing.  Perhaps the next time I drive this road I’ll have time to pay a proper–leisurely–visit to the ranch and document it.

While the signs in the last post were good advertising for this ranch (which raises quarter horses, among other livestock), I think the lovely healthy horses speak for themselves.  Signs are great, but nothing beats foals advertising!

6 Comments

  1. I like the curious look and the shadow on the foal’s side. It’s funny when I first read your title I wondered what horses had to do with fool’s advertising. I need to slow down.

    • Thanks, Lyle.

      I like that the foal is facing into the sun, like he/she’s in the spotlight, and most of the rest of the image falls away into shadow.

      “Fool’s advertising?” That’s funny! I’m sure you’ve figured out by now that it’s a pun on “False Advertising.” But in this case the foals are a “quality product” and not part of some “bait and switch” scam. 🙂

      RPRT Photo

  2. Really neat picture. I would have loved coming across them… 🙂

    • Thanks Brinnmar.

      Both the foals and the mares looked so healthy and content and peaceful. I really didn’t want to disturb them.

      I really hope I get to stop by the ranch another time. It looks like a great place to visit…

      RPRT Photo

  3. Sweet!


Leave a Reply

