Skip navigation

I was driving east on SR 20 in Washington last month and around sundown I entered the town of Concrete, pop. 705.  It was my first time there, and as I drove through the small town I thought how cool it would be if there was a concrete silo that had the name of the town painted on it.  Yes, I really did.  If you’re not from a rural region and don’t spend a lot of time out in the country, you may not know that it’s a fairly common practice to write the name of the town on the silos.  So this wasn’t as nutty an idea as you may have first thought.

In any case, no sooner did this thought cross my mind than I came upon one of the biggest silos I had ever seen.  Yes, it was made of concrete, and yes, it was labeled.  I couldn’t have been more delighted if I had conjured it out of thin air.  In fact, I almost felt as if I had.  In massive red letters, no less, it read “Welcome to Concrete.”  Was I the only person who found this ironic?

The sun had set and the light was fading, but I immediately pulled over to take a couple of images of this enormous edifice.  It’s hard to get a feel for the size of the thing.  Look closely at the very top and you can see a rail and some doors and windows.  Can you imagine standing up there and looking down?  Yikes!

When I got back home, I did a little research on the town of Concrete.  It turns out it was named over a hundred years ago, and there was a massive cement plant in the area.  Evidently the residents voted to name their town “Concrete.”

It seems that the sign on the silo was painted in 1992 for the film “A Boy’s Life” that was shot there.  I haven’t seen it, but I’m going to search it out, since it has Robert de Niro in it, who’s one of my favorite actors.

In a final bit of irony, it seems that the concrete silo stores…concrete.

2 Comments

  1. That is most ironically awesome! A true delight.

    • Indeed, A. I delighted in the irony. This particular road trip was filled with serendipitous happenings. I’ll be writing about some more of them in the coming weeks. Stand by…

      RPRT Photo


Leave a Reply

