Skip navigation

There are a number of abandoned buildings in the Palouse region, and I tried to explore as many as I could during the week I spent there.  Old barns and silos and businesses and farmhouses…each was a unique photo-op.

This grain elevator caught my eye as I was driving by on the highway.  I immediately made a couple of u-turns, because I wanted to leave my car on the opposite side of the road so it wouldn’t get into my images.  I ran across the road with my camera and began to explore.

This was an impressive building at one time, and to me it still is.  It was probably completely covered with corrugated sheeting when it was built.  Now you can see what remains of the sheeting on one side of the building and on the top.

Here’s a closer look at the top.  Note the pigeon in the window.  There were quite a few pigeons flying in and out of this structure, so I figured there were no owls about.  Usually owls love to roost up high in buildings like this.  Perhaps it’s just too close to the highway for their comfort.

Each side of this building looked so different.  Notice all the different widths of boards in this shot.  And the different roofing materials, corrugated sheeting and composition shingles.

You can see that this building is falling apart on the inside as well as the outside.  Did you notice the big piles of debris alongside the building in the first couple of images?  Most of that stuff FELL OFF the building!  Another reason I didn’t want my car sitting anywhere near it.

I also made it a point to not stand under any overhangs.  It was rainy and very windy this day.  The wind was easily over 30 knots.  I shot quickly, kept my eyes on the building at all times, and was careful to not stand too close to it.  You just never know…

But I have to admit that when it comes to old buildings, I’m drawn to them like the proverbial moth to a flame.

I just love all the different sizes and shapes of boards all at different angles to each other in the image above.

It’s hard to convey the crookedness of a building in a two-dimensional medium like photography.  I wish there was a way to make 3-D images of it.  In the above image, the buckled ladder (which obviously was once straight) shows how much this wall has started to collapse inward.

Certain portions of the building, like in the image above, don’t look bad at all.  In fact, it almost looks like a different building.  But I assure you, it’s the same one.

Still with me?  The final image is one of my favorite shots of this building.  I can’t remember seeing a wall like this, where the boards in the vertical row are on end and sticking through the siding.  Does anyone know about this method of construction?  I nicknamed this “The Zipper Wall.”

Leave a Reply

