Skip navigation

Daily Archives: June 27th, 2012

I was out for a drive one morning, barely started on my coffee, and saw a hillside covered with sheep.  As I got closer, I realized they were really BIG sheep.  As I got even closer, I realized that they weren’t sheep at all, but cows.  White cows.

Perhaps these are common where you live?  But I don’t recall ever having seen a herd of white cows.  It was early on a rainy morning, and they were just hanging out together.  Many of them were laying down, and a few were grazing, or just ambling about.  I noticed there were a lot of calves…now THEY were about the size of sheep.  I wished I could get closer, but they were all on a hillside at least 100 yards away.

I stayed in this region for almost an entire week, but never saw another herd of white cows.  I didn’t see very many cows at all, in fact, since it was primarily farming country, and not ranching country.

Does anyone know what breed of cow this is?