Skip navigation

I spent the day in Gig Harbor (Washington) a few weeks ago.  I was there for an annual festival called “Gig Harbor Days” which takes place the first weekend in June.  Gig Harbor is a fishing town a few miles southwest of Seattle.  Here are a few images from that visit.

The top two images, as well as the one below, were taken in a “net house.”  This is a hut on a dock where the fishermen would repair their gear.  One of the net houses was open for visitors to walk through.  Hard to take “still lifes” in a crowded net house, but I managed these.  I especially like the natural lighting on the floats in the image below.

The hook on the cable and pulley in the below image was used to raise and lower things between the dock and the boat.  (Note the sunlight.)

The sign in the image below was evidently cheaper to erect than a fence!  (Note the rain.)  There was a brief shower in the afternoon, but it didn’t seem to dampen the spirits of the crowd.

And of course no maritime-themed festival would be complete without pirates.  There were quite a few in the crowd.  Avast!  Here’s a scurvy dog and his first mate enjoying the festivities.  Redbeard?

Got crab?

4 Comments

  1. Great photos. Looks like an interesting place to visit.

    • True, NN, Gig Harbor is cool. I have a friend who grew up there, so I get a local’s perspective each time I go there with her. Gig Harbor Days was fun, but I much prefer to visit when the town isn’t overrun with crowds….

      RPRT Photo

  2. wow…. 🙂
    kiss
    vento


Leave a comment