Skip navigation

This is the third and final entry of three blog award nominations over three days.  (Tomorrow we will return to our regular programming!)  Today I am celebrating receiving The Versatile Blogger Award.  I was nominated by Mary Ann Blinkhorn:  http://mypenandme.wordpress.com

Mary Ann is a poet, prose writer, doodler and photographer.  (Did I get them right, Mary Ann?) Being a writer, Mary Ann knows better than to call her blog “My Pen And I.”  This proves she’s legit.  So check out her blog “My Pen and Me” when you get a chance.  (I especially like her doodles!)

There are only three rules for The Versatile Blogger Award, and they are exactly the same as the three rules for The Lovely Blog Award, which was featured in yesterday’s post.  This is good, since I’m not a great rule follower.  No, not even “The Rule of Thirds.”  In my mind, rules are made to be broken (or at least stretched) so here we go…  As the great Yogi Berra once said “This is like deja vu all over again!”

Who read yesterday’s post and remembers rule #1?  Class?   Anyone?  Bueller?

That’s right, it’s thank the nominator, which I haven’t done yet, though I gave her a nice plug in the first two paragraphs of this post. So, thank you, Mary Ann, your nomination is much appreciated.  You have exquisite taste in blogs, bloggers, photography and writing, not necessarily in that order.

Rule #2 is to nominate 15 other bloggers.  (This is actually the third rule, but I’m taking them out of order (again) because I feel #3 is more important than #2.)  As with yesterday’s 15 nominees, a difficult choice, and without duplicating any of yesterday’s sites, here are 15 more for your viewing and reading enjoyment:

The third and final rule is to post seven things about myself.  Seven more, really?  Again, I think my images are more interesting than I am, but here you go:

  • My first camera was a Kodak Instamatic that I “liberated” from my mother.  Most of our family pictures were taken with that camera.  The camera’s long gone, but I still have many of the pictures.
  • My first “real” (35 mm) camera was a Mamiya Secor rangefinder that one of my brothers-in-law gave me when I was still in high school.
  • I only took one photography class in college, and I hated it.  Hated having to shoot only black & white, hated having to be trapped in a claustrophobic darkroom breathing noxious fumes, and hated waiting…waiting…waiting.
  • The top five states in which I love to shoot are Maine, Alaska, Hawai’i, Arizona and Washington.
  • The last five countries I shot in (not counting the US) are Canada, Mexico, Australia, Peru and China.
  • Five types of aircraft I have flown in, and photographed from, include a glider, a biplane, a blimp, a hot air balloon, and a DC-3.
  • My favorite photographic subjects that I have ready access to are my cats.
Finally, since I never put up a post that doesn’t include at least one of my images, here’s another preview of an upcoming series on “Barns of the Palouse.”  In honor of the award, the green of the grass, the black of the trunks, and the white of the barn echo the Versatile Blogger logo colors.
One Comment

  1. Thank you for all of your kind words. I really enjoyed reading the seven things about you. When I get home from work, I will check out your nominees–looking forward to it. Best regards, Mary Ann


Leave a Reply

