Skip navigation

Few symbols are as recognizable around the world as the cross.

As many of you know, I enjoy hanging out  and photographing in cemeteries.  They’re pretty, they’re peaceful (I often have the place to myself) and I never know what will catch my interest.

I was driving through a cemetery late one afternoon when I spotted this grouping of crosses.  Since this cemetery is on the side of a hill, I was able to get all but one of the crosses standing out against the hazy sky, which provide a nice, neutral backdrop.

The late afternoon light helped to warm up the scene, particularly the wooden fence in the foreground.  It also helped emphasize the rough texture of most of the stone crosses.  Only two out of seven have a smooth finish.

Often a group of similar objects will have more impact than just one or two.  While we often shoot groups of flowers, trees, people, etc., look for groupings of unexpected objects to add interest to your images.

2 Comments

  1. A visit to the other world. Thanks for sharing Nonoy Manga

    • Thanks, Nonoy. I enjoyed your site as well. You are very talented! I’m a photographer because I can’t draw! 😉

      RPRT Photo


Leave a Reply

