Skip navigation

Last week I took advantage of a sunny morning after several days of rain, and visited a few beaches to see what the storm surf had tossed ashore.  On one beach I found an impromptu “sculpture” that someone had made recently.  I’m guessing it was made that same morning, since the strong winds of the previous few days would have most likely blown it over.

I made the above image with my smart phone, since I didn’t have much time to linger that morning.  Despite my laziness, I’m happy with the way the image turned out.  There’s plenty of detail in the wood and rocks, and the background is also adequately sharp.  I love the play between the foreground and the background, the softness of the lighting and the sky, the contrast of the textures of the wood, stone, sand and water.

The whitewater in the surf is too “blown out” to make this more than a snapshot, but as snapshots go, it’s a keeper.

Meanwhile, approximately 3,200 miles northeast of where the above image was taken by the Pacific Ocean in California, I took the image below by the Atlantic Ocean in Maine.  It was on Isle Au Haut, which can only be reached by boat.  A friend who lives in Maine and I took the first morning ferry to the island, and spent the day hiking miles of beautiful trails through the forests and along the shores.

Maine is one of my favorite states, and if you’ve read my blog from the beginning you may remember me rhapsodizing about the heavenly concoction known as a lobster roll.  Besides having great eats, Maine also has an abundance of photo-ops.  Since I’m passionate about photography, food and travel, Maine is a favorite destination.

I built the cairn in the image below, and must admit that I was very pleased with my engineering skills as well as my artistry.  I wanted a pleasing variety of sizes and shapes of rocks, and most of the Maine coast has rocks in abundance.  I also wanted the sculpture to have a bit of a whimsical air, almost like a fairy tale castle.  I believe I achieved that goal.  I think my construction is a bit more creative than the one at the top of the page, where the sizes and shapes of the rocks are much more uniform (and thus balance more easily upon each other).

Like the image above, the image below is a snapshot and not fine art.  The lighting is harsh and the focus is soft.  However, it memorializes a fine day spent with a fellow photographer in a spectacular setting.  But it has more meaning for me than the image above, since I created both the cairn AND the photograph.

Rock on!

One Comment

  1. These are great!
    Mandy
    Blogged Today: Inspiring Artist


Leave a Reply

