Skip navigation

I continued to have fun shooting reflections someplace they’re not often found:  in rain puddles in the desert.  While the massive rainstorms of the past several days caused me to alter some plans on this road trip, and messed up some photo ops that I have planned, they also gave me photo-ops I hadn’t planned on.  And often these turn out to be the best, or at least the most fun to shoot.

When I arrived at this large gravel parking lot early in the morning, I was the only person there for quite a while.  But eventually, the later-rising campers began to trickle in.  As I was shooting the puddles, I had the camera on a tripod, tipped down towards the earth.  I noticed a few other people staring at the crazy person photographing the parking lot.  If you’re not standing in exactly the right place, you don’t see the reflection in the puddle, or all you see reflected is sky.

Some people’s curiosity got the better of them, and they wandered over to see what the heck I was shooting.  And several who noticed the reflections took some shots of their own with their point-and-shoot cameras.

They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.  Hey, I’ll take it.  I was just being in the right place at the right time.  And having fun.

One Comment

  1. other reality?
    under reality?


Leave a Reply

